FH5, Series 58, Week 1

Treasure hunt. Win a race in a track toy. I picked the M3 GTR and found it to be rather slidey. Perhaps it’s better in A class. Got my 300 FPs and now have 174,373 FPs.

The weekly in the KTM X-Bow went smoothly, although getting 12 stars from STs was a bit of a grind. Then again, I couldn’t be bothered buffing it up to go vroom.

Rivals was all Audis. Some EV which, I think, I’ve only ever driven once, and the other one, which I’ve probably driven twice.

Only one Eventlab this week, viz. High Speed Ring 5 Runden in GT cars. Dirt racing? I do wish the tiles would specifically state the surface. I picked the Cyberster because it’s AWD and I didn’t want to find myself making myself an arse on grass. There was no grass, but I was still an arse. [Poetry? Please stop. –ed.] The layout was undemanding, but I wish I’d picked a better car to drive. The reward: clothing.

I took a photo. I got more clothing. Naturally, sexiness ensues. Steady, ladies!

I one-shotted the Hotel DS in the International Scout for a one-third excellent SWS. For the ST I forgot that the best strategy is to drive across the sand. Took a couple of attempts, but I PB’ed it for one-third good SWS.

I one-shotted the HW and RA PR stunts. Rubbish SWS for the latter and a one-third very good SWS for the former.

I opted for the Jaguar XE-S for the Trial. I would’ve gone with the 2016 BMW M2, but it seemed to have disappeared off the list of eligible cars (or I managed not to see it; old person problems). Third off the grid round Chihuahua and 4th overall, not helped by a clown in an MB 4-door who was faster in a straight line and a master of incompetence round corners. I started in pole round Lookout, but quickly fell back because the kiddies were probably in AWD cars. Once again, I got stuck behind the clown in the 4-door, and would’ve been 5th if he hadn’t suddenly gone into the pause menu at the very end of the race. Rewarded with another DB11.

So no more backstage Pass voting. Fine as I mostly didn’t care anyway. I now have the four missing Extreme E cars back in my garage (none of which I’ll ever drive) and still have over 70 Backstage Passes.

Name that tune

Not so much of this this week. I happened to see a video with Ben Collins driving the TVR Sagaris for the first time since he was on Top Gear. He said something about the springs at the front being too stiff, causing the rear end to be inclined to become the front end. And with that hint, I thought I’d try softening the suspension of some front-engined cars in FH5 to see whether that made a noticeable difference. Answer: no. I tried reducing the stiffness by varying amounts, but it didn’t seem to offer any great advantages. Oh well, it kept me amused.

FH6, specs

Well, seems my machine is somewhere between Recommended and Extreme specs for the game. Slight sigh of relief because I feared that my laptop wouldn’t quite be up to the task and I’d feel that a replacement was needed at a time when memory now costs a few extra arms and legs because of the demand from the AI industry. Annoying bastards.

FH6, competitiveness

I feel like penning a few thoughts about DUBS’ video about competitiveness in FH6. As I’ve said before, Horizon Open is a lazy instantiation of P-v-P racing. The constraints are minimal, and the lobbies are packed with try-hards in meta cars with exploiter tunes. The Trial and Horizon Tour are a bit better because there are slightly greater constraints on the races, and because the latter isn’t the playground of the elite players so that it’s possible to have some decent races. Sort of.

Horizon Open (or whatever they call it in FH6) needs constraints in the same way FM has certain constraints on races or GT7. In addition to that, there needs to be ranked racing so that if, say, I naturally settle into B lobbies, I’ll get the usual try-hards passing though and swiftly moving on, but largely be racing against people who are as incompetent as me.

FH6, showcases

Well, boys, you’re right. The only reason why I did the showcases more than once in FH4 was because they were included in the Festival playlist (which is back to blight our lives again in FH6). In FH5 I was grateful that when we had to do a showcase, we could usually choose which one. The rest of the time I couldn’t be bothered with them and am inclined to take much the same view of them in FH6.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

FH5, Series 49, Week 2

FH5, Series 47, Week 3

FH5, Series 48, Week 3